QuickBooks MCP Server Options Compared (2026): Intuit's Official Connector, GitHub, Zapier, CData and Excel

"QuickBooks MCP" now means at least six different things, and two of them come from Intuit. Which one fits depends on three plain questions: where your QuickBooks company is based, who holds its login, and whether the answer should end up in a chat window or in a workbook you can tick and file.

Last checked: 15 September 2026. Every external claim links to its source, and all sources were checked on 15 September 2026; where official pages disagree we show both, with their dates. We make one of the routes, HISAB 360, so it comes last, with its limits spelt out.

Does QuickBooks have an MCP server?

Yes. Intuit offers two, built for different people.

Both are built on QuickBooks Online (Intuit's Claude article also accepts Intuit Enterprise Suite subscriptions). We found no official MCP server or connector for QuickBooks Desktop.

QuickBooks MCP routes at a glance

Last checked: 15 September 2026. "Approval before posting" is what each vendor documents, not any prompt your AI client adds on top.

RouteWho runs itDeveloper app needed?Read / writeApproval before postingRegionsWhere the data landsCost model
1. Intuit QuickBooks connector (Claude, ChatGPT)Intuit (hosted)No — sign in with IntuitRead and write: invoices, estimates, customers, products, payment linksConfirmation for destructive actions such as deletesUS only, per Intuit's help articles (5 and 26 Aug 2026); Claude's directory listing shows no restrictionChat windowClaude: a QuickBooks or Intuit Enterprise Suite subscription, or business details plus 10+ transactions; ChatGPT: a QuickBooks Online subscription. Plus a Claude or ChatGPT account
2. Intuit's GitHub serverYou, as a local stdio processYes145 tools: CRUD on 29 entity types, 11 reportsEnvironment flags switch off create, update and deleteNot statedYour MCP clientFree; you pay for your AI client
3a. Zapier MCPZapier (hosted)NoFinds; creates (incl. journal entries, payments); updates for bills, invoices, customers, vendors and a few others; send; void invoicePer-user tool-call historyNot statedYour MCP client2 Zapier tasks per successful tool call
3b. Pipedream MCPPipedream (hosted)NoTool list would not load when checkedNot describedNot statedYour MCP clientFree for your own use; production use in your own app on paid plans; MCP tool calls use credits
4. CData Connect AICData (hosted)NoSQL-style query; insert, update, delete and bulk listed as universal tools on the pricing page (the QuickBooks page itself shows query examples only)QuickBooks permissions carry through; query loggingNot statedYour MCP clientFrom $79/month billed annually; 14-day trial
5. HISAB 360 (local MCP inside Excel)You, inside Windows desktop ExcelYes — your own Intuit appReads entities and reports; writes invoices, bills, journals, payments, customers and moreStaging sheet, validation, and a confirmation click for transactions and for edits, voids and deletesThe connector blocks no region (UK VAT handling live-tested)Worksheet cellsPaid add-in: $7/month with your own Claude or ChatGPT account, or from $10/month with HISAB AI credits; 15-day trial

Other comparisons exist: Kipper's (updated 4 September 2026) compares Intuit's GitHub server, two community servers, Zapier, CData and Kipper's own $200/month read-only layer, but not Intuit's hosted connector or Excel; DeepLedger's (updated 14 September 2026), from a vendor that sells a hosted QuickBooks MCP, compares local and hosted setup.

Route 1: Intuit's official QuickBooks connector for Claude and ChatGPT

Intuit's 23 April 2026 announcement described QuickBooks in Claude as analysis and reporting. On 28 July 2026 Intuit added write actions to Claude and ChatGPT: creating, updating, deleting and sending invoices, recurring invoices, estimates, payment links, new customers and products, and PDF downloads. The same update added payroll lookups and QuickBooks Capital loan benchmarking, and listed payroll actions such as compensation changes as coming next.

What it can write depends on which page you read:

The US-only limit. The Claude help article (updated 5 August 2026) says: "The QuickBooks connector for Claude is currently available to US customers only", with other regions planned. The ChatGPT article says the same for US QuickBooks Online customers. Intuit's 28 July announcement also marks its Payments-based features, such as payment links, as not available in U.S. territories or outside the U.S. Go by Intuit: if your company is in the UK, Canada, Australia or elsewhere, this route is not yet for you.

Approval and data. Intuit says destructive actions, such as deleting an invoice, need your confirmation. It describes no staging or batch-review step for other writes. Intuit also says QuickBooks data is not used to train Claude.

Good for: US owners and bookkeepers who want answers and quick invoicing in conversation. Not for: non-US companies today, or output that must be a reviewable schedule.

Route 2: Intuit's open-source quickbooks-online-mcp-server on GitHub

The README describes a local stdio server, not a hosted endpoint. It covers far more than the hosted connector: 145 tools, full CRUD on 29 entity types and 11 reports, including Trial Balance and General Ledger.

Setup means registering your own app on the Intuit Developer Portal, completing a one-time browser OAuth handshake, and keeping the client ID, secret, refresh token, realm ID and environment in a .env file.

The catch is the redirect URI. Sandbox accepts http://localhost, but the README says production rejects localhost and needs a public HTTPS callback for the first authorisation; it suggests ngrok. You may read that the server is sandbox-only. Intuit said so itself in its 21 October 2025 "Early Preview" developer blog post (search result checked 15 September 2026; the blog host did not load that day). The current README (checked 15 September 2026) documents production use with a public HTTPS callback, so the README is the newer word.

Control. QUICKBOOKS_DISABLE_WRITE, QUICKBOOKS_DISABLE_UPDATE and QUICKBOOKS_DISABLE_DELETE switch off the create, update and delete tools, so you can start read-only. The Releases page showed no published releases: treat it as source code you pin yourself.

Good for: developers building an agent who want the widest coverage. Not for: anyone who wants to click Connect and start.

Route 3: Hosted automation MCPs — Zapier and Pipedream

These remove the developer app: you connect QuickBooks once inside the platform, and a third party then sits between the AI and your ledger, holding the connection.

Zapier's QuickBooks Online MCP covers searches; creates for bills, invoices, journal entries, payments, purchase orders and more; updates for bills, invoices, estimates, customers, vendors and a few others (none for journal entries or payments); sending documents; and voiding invoices. Per its usage docs, each successful tool call, test calls included, uses two plan tasks. Its MCP security page cites SOC 2 Type II and per-user tool-call logs, but does not say how connection tokens are stored, so ask.

Pipedream's MCP docs say anyone can use its hosted MCP servers for their own use free, with production use inside your own app on paid plans. Credentials are encrypted at rest and requests go through Pipedream's servers, so Pipedream holds the QuickBooks tokens. Its pricing docs list MCP tool calls among operations that use credits, and bill compute at one credit per 30 seconds; we found no official dollar price. Its QuickBooks tool list would not load.

Good for: teams already running Zapier or Pipedream. Not for: firms whose policy bars a third party from holding client ledger credentials.

Route 4: CData Connect AI for QuickBooks Online

CData Connect AI is a cloud-hosted MCP endpoint that treats QuickBooks Online as a SQL-style source, with QuickBooks permissions carried through and query logging. Its pricing page starts at $99/month, or $79/month billed annually (1 user, 1 source), with a 14-day trial. It lists query, insert, update, delete and bulk tools as universal tools for all sources; the QuickBooks Online page itself shows only query examples, so confirm write support during the trial. CData also publishes a read-only open-source server.

Good for: a data team wanting one governed endpoint. Not for: a sole practitioner with one QuickBooks file.

Route 5: A local MCP server inside Excel (HISAB 360)

This is our route, for a narrower problem. HISAB puts QuickBooks data into worksheet cells for reconciliation and review, and sends changes back from a sheet a person has checked.

How it works. HISAB is a paid add-in for Windows desktop Excel. It runs a local MCP server at http://localhost:7317/mcp (JSON-RPC over HTTP, bearer token), available only while Excel is open and listening on localhost only. The AI gets erp_list_connections, erp_query and erp_stage_* tools alongside Excel read/write, formulas and a Python sandbox, running on your own Claude or ChatGPT subscription or on HISAB AI credits (see bring your own AI).

Reads and writes. You can query QuickBooks Online entities and pull reports such as Profit and Loss, Trial Balance and Aged Receivables into a sheet. Data is pulled when asked; there is no scheduled or automatic refresh. You can create invoices, bills, journal entries, payments, credit memos, customers and vendors, and update, void, delete or email existing records.

Every write is staged on a sheet, validated, submitted and audited. Writing is off until you set the connection to Read + Write. Transactions, and any edit, void, delete or send, need a confirmation click before they post (see approvals). QuickBooks has no draft state, so an approved row posts as a final record. Write-back is in every plan.

Regions. The connector reads each company's country and blocks no region; for non-US companies it flags sales lines with no tax code before submission.

The limits, plainly:

Good for: accountants whose output is a workpaper, reconciliation or journal batch in Excel, including non-US companies, though live testing so far covers only a UK VAT sandbox. Not for: browser chat or Mac users. For non-MCP routes, see connecting QuickBooks and Xero to Excel and the Power Query connector alternatives.

Security and control questions to ask of any QuickBooks MCP

  1. Where does the OAuth refresh token live, and how is it revoked? Intuit's GitHub server: a local .env file. Zapier, Pipedream and CData: their platforms. Intuit's connector: your Intuit sign-in. HISAB: Windows DPAPI on your PC, never passed to the AI.
  2. Which write access is granted, and can it be narrowed? The GitHub server has disable flags. HISAB connects with Intuit's single com.intuit.quickbooks.accounting scope, so its per-connection Read + Write switch records intent inside HISAB rather than adding OAuth scopes.
  3. Does a person approve before anything posts, or only before deletes? Zoho, for its own server, advises admin approval before MCP actions.
  4. Is there a per-call audit log? Zapier has a History tab, CData claims full query logging, and HISAB writes every submission attempt to its audit log.

Beyond QuickBooks: MCP options for Xero, Zoho Books, Odoo and FreshBooks

Last checked: 15 September 2026.

LedgerOfficial connector in Claude's directoryOther official routeOfficial route writes?Hosted third-party options
XeroXero in Claude, 11 tools, free with a Xero subscriptionXeroAPI/xero-mcp-server, Node, stdioClaude connector is read-only (per Xero); GitHub server has write toolsNot covered here
Zoho BooksZoho Books in Claude, 49 read and write tools, regional URLs including EU, India and UAEZoho MCP hub, configured in Zoho's console, for ChatGPT, Cursor and extended toolsYesNot covered here
OdooNone in Claude's directoryBuilt into the Odoo database's AI module per Odoo's master-branch docs: API key with MCP scope as a bearer token; five read/metadata tools by default (Get Fields, Get Models, Retrieve initial context, Search, Read group)Other tools can be exposed manually via Server ActionsNot covered here
FreshBooksNone foundNone foundZapier, Pipedream, Composio

Odoo: which release ships the native MCP server is not settled. The 19.0 docs page returned 404, and the "Odoo 20" claims we found come from third-party blogs.

HISAB's connectors cover all four plus QuickBooks Online, with write-back staged on a sheet for review, and the same limits (Windows desktop Excel only, and your own developer app for the OAuth-based ledgers).

Which QuickBooks MCP route should you pick?

For wider context, see AI Excel tools for accountants, Claude for Excel and ChatGPT for Excel.

Frequently asked questions

Does QuickBooks have an official MCP server?

Yes, two: Intuit's hosted connector in Claude and ChatGPT (US customers only, per its August 2026 help articles) and the open-source intuit/quickbooks-online-mcp-server on GitHub, which runs locally with your own Intuit developer app. Both target QuickBooks Online, not Desktop.

Can I use a QuickBooks MCP server with Claude Code, Codex or Claude Desktop?

Local stdio servers such as Intuit's GitHub server are added to local clients by configuration. Claude custom connectors, including in Claude Desktop, connect from Anthropic's cloud and need a public server. HISAB registers itself with Claude Code and Codex only; other local clients that support HTTP with a bearer token need manual setup.

How much does a QuickBooks MCP server cost?

Intuit's connector needs a Claude or ChatGPT account plus, per Intuit's help articles, a QuickBooks subscription (Claude also accepts Intuit Enterprise Suite, or business details without a subscription); its GitHub server is free. Zapier uses two tasks per successful tool call, Pipedream uses credits, and CData starts at $79 a month billed annually. HISAB costs $7 a month with your own Claude or ChatGPT account, or from $10 a month with HISAB AI credits, after a 15-day trial.

Is my QuickBooks data used to train the AI?

Intuit says QuickBooks data is not used to train Claude. Otherwise check the connector vendor's and your AI provider's terms: HISAB never sends QuickBooks credentials to the AI, but whatever the AI reads falls under your provider's terms.

Can an MCP server post journal entries to QuickBooks safely?

Several can: Intuit's GitHub server has Journal Entry CRUD, and Zapier can create journal entries. Safety comes from narrow write access, a person reviewing each batch, a per-call log and a sandbox test first. HISAB stages journals on a sheet and needs a confirmation click before they post. For the non-AI route, see importing journal entries from Excel.

Is there a QuickBooks Desktop MCP server?

We found no official one, and none of the routes compared here connects to Desktop, HISAB included. If a page promises one, check what it actually connects to before handing over a company file.

Try HISAB 360 on your own workbook

HISAB 360 is an AI assistant inside Windows desktop Excel for accountants and finance teams. It connects two-way to QuickBooks, Xero, Zoho Books, Odoo and FreshBooks. The 15-day trial is the full product, no card required.

Start free → See pricing